Saturday, December 11, 2010

I Shot The President - (1997)

The band was formed in 1980 by guitarist Ian Burgoyne and bass guitarist Keith Band, who recruited drummer Kenny McDonald and by 1982, singer Paul Quinn. One of their early recordings, "Blue Moon Over Hawaii",was later included on the Messthetics series of compilations. The band were the last to be signed by Postcard Records, for whom they recorded a single in 1982, although the label's demise left it unreleased. They were then signed by Rough Trade, who released the "Show Me the Door" single and a self-titled début album in July 1983. Both were hits on the UK Independent Chart, with the album peaking at number 14. Quinn had left by 1983, to be replaced by Grahame Skinner, and Skinner also left to join Hipsway. The band split up shortly afterwards with Burgoyne, Band and McDonald joining up again with Quinn in Bourgie Bourgie. Burgoyne and Band re-formed the Jazzateers in 1985 along with guitarist Mick Slaven, drummer Colin Auld, and singer Matthew Wilcox, releasing a 12-inch single that year. A collection of Jazzateers tracks was issued in 1997 by Marina Records. Slaven went on to join Del Amitri, while Auld joined Fruits of Passion. Wilcox and Band, meanwhile, formed Wild Angels along with Stephen Lironi (formerly of Altered Images) and Douglas McIntyre (formerly of The Bathers).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails