Sunday, February 14, 2010

Heligoland - (2010)

HELIGOLAND is the much anticipated fifth studio album from legendary trip-hop duo MASSIVE ATTACK and the first new studio album since 2003's critically-acclaimed 100TH WINDOW. HELIGOLAND features an all-star cast of guest vocals from DAMON ALBARN, HOPE SANDOVAL, MARTINA TOPLEY-BIRD, GUY GARVEY and TUNDE ADEBIMPE. Long time cohort HORACE ANDY makes a return alongside Massive Attack founding members ROBERT DEL NAJA (3D) and GRAND MARSHALL (DADDY G). Damon also plays bass on `Flat Of The Blade' and keyboards on `Splitting The Atom' while PORTISHEAD's ADRIAN UTLEY plays guitar on `Saturday Come Slow'. The band also collaborated with DFA's TIM GOLDSWORTHY on selected tracks. The cover artwork features an original image by ROBERT DEL NAJA. Over the last three years Robert Del Naja has written and produced soundtracks for a number of films and documentaries, including `Trouble In The Water', '44 Inch Chest', `In Prison My Whole Life' and `Gomorra', the latter for which he won the David Di Donatello Award for Best Song. Massive Attack also won the Outstanding Contribution to British Music Award at the Ivor Novello Awards.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails